SAFE awards 2017

SAFE awards 2017

the 2017 SAFE award winnings lining up for a photo

Congratulations to all winners and nominees at BFRS’s 2017 awards evening, which took place on Friday evening (22 September) at The Oculus in Aylesbury. Many were there to collect their awards in person.

Fire Brigade Long Service and Good Conduct Medal (20 years)

  • Firefighter Robert Tonks (Beaconsfield)

25 years’ service

  • Station Commander Suzanne Connolly (HQ)
  • Crew Commander Jeromey Crick (High Wycombe)
  • Firefighter Neil Hoing (High Wycombe)
  • Firefighter Christopher Millward (Gerrards Cross)
  • Watch Commander Howard Pipkin (High Wycombe)
  • Firefighter Paul Robins (Amersham)
  • Firefighter Grant Warkcup (Aylesbury)
  • Firefighter Paul White(Gerrards Cross)
  • Watch Commander Dave Whitelock (HQ)

30 years’ service

  • Marie Crothers, Programme Manager – Projects and Transformation (HQ)
  • Watch Commander Lloyd Davis (Aylesbury)
  • Watch Commander Jonathan Franklin (High Wycombe)
  • Firefighter Simon Goldfinch (Amersham)

35 years’ service

  • Firefighter Philip Simons (Buckingham)

Chairman’s Award

  • Station Commander Tim Parkins, Broughton and Newport Pagnell Fire Stations

Service Awards For Excellence

  • Commitment to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion – Christine Duncan, Community Safety Coordinator for Milton Keynes
  • Initiative/Special Achievement of the Year – White Watch Broughton Fire Station and Christine Duncan, Community Safety Coordinator for Milton Keynes
  • Team of the Year – Stuart Long (Firefighter High Wycombe Green Watch) and Rob Creighton (Firefighter Broughton Green Watch)
  • Apprentice of the Year – Josh Smith, ICT
  • Staff Member of the Year  – Carol Maclennan, Station Cook, Beaconsfield
  • Exceptional Service Award – Firefighter Dave Simpson (recently retired from High Wycombe Red Watch)

Councillor Adrian Busby, who retired as Chairman of Buckinghamshire & Milton Keynes Fire Authority earler this year, was presented with a statue, and his wife Sally with flowers.